Australia blocks arrival of all non-residents in expanded coronavirus travel ban

Key points:
  • All non-residents will be banned from arriving in Australia from 9pm on Friday
  • It replaces earlier travel bans on foreigners coming from China, Iran, Italy and South Korea
  • Australians who return from overseas will still need to isolate themselves for a fortnight

Prime Minister Scott Morrison has announced the enhanced border measures in response to the coronavirus outbreak.

It applies to all non-citizens and non-residents.

Australians will still be able to return from overseas but they will be required to self-isolate for 14 days.

The Government had previously banned foreign nationals from coming to Australia from China, Iran, Italy and South Korea.

New Zealand had already announced plans to close its borders to foreign nationals from midnight tonight.

Mr Morrison said he had consulted New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern about Australia’s new travel ban prior to announcing it.

“The New Zealand arrangement, in the same way as it has in the past, doesn’t apply to Australians living in New Zealand as New Zealand residents,” he said.

“Equally for New Zealanders living in Australia as Australian residents, these are the same rules that apply in both countries.


Comments are closed.

© Coral Coast Migration Services 2023

Website created by RJ New Designs

Google Rating
Based on 60 reviews